Your boss may be your best Facebook friend

Posted: September 8, 2010 in Facebook
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Most of my friends and classmates find it “weird” to have their boss as a friend on Facebook. I think they are wrong and it is a great idea as long as it is done with care and you communicate well with your employer. Once upon a time, when I was a teenager,I posted some pictures on Facebook of me at work that were somewhat questionable. I didn’t find them to be bad at the tie, but my boss did. In a friendly manner he asked me to delete them explaining his reasons. I removed them, but I thought he was being ridiculous. Now I look back, and I am thankful that he asked me to do so. If he wouldn’t have said that, I would have done it now. Employers need to create an environment of trust with employees where they can help those who don’t know how to behave online, and help some people avoid future embarrassment.

Also, now that I am unemployed and desperately looking for a job, it is easier for me to contact my previous employers asking for references. Some of them work at different places now. It would be almost impossible to find them if it weren’t because for Facebook. I can update their information and maybe have an opportunity to work with them again. I spent this past summer in Toronto, and one of my previous employers, who now lives there, hired me during my stay.

Unless you have no idea how to manage your online presence, and/or you don’t trust your boss looking at your pictures, you should try to stay connected with those who might help you get your dream job.

Leave a Reply

