90-9-1 Principle in Marketing

Posted: August 25, 2010 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

This letter reminded me of the 90-9-1 principle. If you are interested in marketing you should know it, but I guess I can teach it to you if you are not familiar with it. 90% of people online are viewers, 9% are editors and 1% are creators of content. If you want your campaign to go viral you should make sure to know that fact, and these other 5 rules. Apparently 68% of online marketers have never heard of that principle. After reading that letter, I started to think about some other campaigns that asked me to make videos or take pictures of myself promoting a product. Doritos is the only that comes to mind at the moment, but I’m sure that, if I research better, I can find more companies asking for this kind of things.

However I find that kind of marketing very poor. Of course, a lot of people will find it interesting, but I don’t think it has high chances of going viral. People want to see something quick and pass it around. This is why Stumbleupon is so successful. The “bored at work” idea should be something to focus on. People don’t always have the will and the means to create marketing campaigns for other organizations. Companies are paying the big bucks to advertising agencies and marketing teams anyways. They should use the social media in a way that engages those viewers more and makes them remember the message.

Comments
  1. Keri G says:

    Hey Christian, I didn’t know that you are blogger. Keep going at it, you are great!!

  2. Keri G says:

    PS: sorry for spelling your name incorrectly, Cristian 😉

Leave a Reply

