Blogs: The New Free-Speech Zone

Posted: December 3, 2009 in Uncategorized

With the controversy of the Olympics in Vancouver, and how the government created free-speech zones, it would be silly not to think that blogs are the way to reach an audience. The Times Colonist is not telling the whole story, then someone has to tell the rest.

Even though my blog is not related to anti-Olympics activism, I feel related to those who expressed their opinions through new media. I feel like I can say whatever I want here. I am sitting in the commodity of my home writing about what I like and I dislike. I make fun of people I don’t even know, and I talk about products I have never tried. This is awesome! But “with great power comes great responsibility.” I don’t mean the homework I am doing. It is a little bit frightening that my instructor and peers could read this, not only them but maybe a prospect employer.

The Internet became a way to create and ruin lives, literally. I am my worst critic. I do work and five minutes later I tell myself how stupid I am for coming up with something so stupid. I am scared to read my previous entries for that same reason, but I am looking forward to the previous entries I want to write about. My problem with this blog is not coming up with ideas- oh boy I have lots. The issue is time.

I really have to give kudos to those people who leave their full-time jobs to blog. I wouldn’t know what to write every day. It seems like so many people are doing that now. Even some newspapers are becoming blogs. This is the impressive part of the Internet: People can get all the material and sources they need from their monitors.

What did I learn about myself from this blog? I learned that I need to manage my time better. I was able to find a lot of information I wanted to post in here, but I couldn’t find the time to actually do it. I’m a student with a lot of homework :S. But I will challenge myself to keep writing more here. One thing is for sure. My class might be over, but this blog will continue  working.

Leave a Reply

